Sense, Predict, Act

Global Advisory Council

PSI has recruited a world-class Global Advisory Council of thought leaders in science, technology, economics and innovation. The Council provides strategic advice and guidance on PSI's R&D agenda and road map.

Dr. Simon P. Worden* (UNITED STATES)

NASA Ames Research Center Director, Research Professor of Astronomy, Optical Sciences and Planetary Sciences at the University of Arizona, Chief Advisor to the Chairman of the US Senate Subcommittee on Science and Space

*NASA Liaison to PSI Advisory Council

Dr. Sara Boettiger (United States)

Founding CEO of GATD Foundation, Adjunct Professor of Agricultural Economics at UC Berkeley, Chairman of the CGIAR center CIMMYT and founding Director of AgPartnerXChange.,

Dr. Boettiger is also co-founder of the non-profits PIPRA and Global Access in Action, and engaged with the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Councils (IP Systems and Measuring Sustainability councils).

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern (United Kingdom)

Lord Nicholas Stern is chairman of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment and IG Patel Professor at The London School of Economics and Political Science,

Chief Economist of the World Bank from 2000 to 2003. Led the review into the economics of climate change that resulted in the publication of the globally influential Stern Review.

Dr. Rajendra Pachauri (India)

Chair, IPCC; Director General TERI, Executive Director, Yale Climate & Energy Institute,

His work as chair of the IPCC has led to the joint award of the Nobel Prize for Peace. And was recently awarded the second highest civilian award in India, the Padma Vibhushan.

Professor Dr. Zhou Dadi (China)

Former President, Energy Research Institute, National Development Reform Commission (NDRC),

China’s lead representative to the IPCC is the founding director of the Beijing Energy Efficiency Institute and has a leading reputation globally for his work in energy and environmental policy.

Charles F. Kennel (United States)

Scripps Institution of Oceanography, Director, Dean, Vice-Chancellor, and Professor Emeritus

Has served on Presidential Commissions and chaired National Research Committees and Boards. Chair of the NASA Advisory Council from 2001 – 2005. Was Associate Administrator at NASA for Mission to Planet Earth 1996-98.

Dr. Carlos Nobre (Brazil)

National Secretary for Research & Development Policy and Programs, Ministry of Science, Technology & Innovation (MCTI); Chair of the National Panel of Climate Change,

Author of the internationally influential hypothesis on the savannization of the Amazon rainforest; founder of Brazil’s Space Research Institute’s Center for Weather Forecasting and Climate Change Research (CPTEC) and its Centre for Earth System Science (CCST)

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins (United Kingdom)

Director, Grantham Institute for Climate Change, Imperial College London; Member of the UK Government’s Climate Change Committee,

A world authority on climate issues and global weather patterns, he was a member of the IPCC team awarded the Nobel Peace prize. Chair of Scientific Committee of the UK Met Office Hadley Centre.

Professor Coleen Vogel (South Africa)

Chair of Sustainability, School of Geography and Environmental Studies, University of Witwatersrand

Past Chair of the International Scientific Committee of the International Human Dimensions Programme (IHDP). Advises a number of South African government departments and Africa’s NEPAD on vulnerability decision-support.

Professor Taroh Matsuno (Japan)

Director-General, Frontier Research System for Global Change (FRSGC)

His expertise includes meteorology, especially large-scale atmosphere dynamics, and climate dynamics. Awarded the prestigious United States AMS Life Achievement Award. He has been serving as the Director-General of FRSGC, and also as the Director of Integrated Modeling Research Program as an additional post.

Dr. Phil Sharp (United States)

President, Resources for the Future

A leading authority on US energy policy and a distinguished record of public service, with ten terms as member of the House of Representatives for Indiana. He has been at the forefront of critical US energy policies over the last two decades. Has held Chairs in Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

Dr. Gerald Nelson (United States)

Professor Emeritus, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (previously Senior Research Fellow at IFPRI)

Dr. Nelson is a leading authority on the future of agriculture. His research publications include topics such as modeling of the global interactions among agriculture, land use, and climate change; the consequences of macro-economic, sector and trade policies and climate change on land use and the environment; and the assessment of the effects of genetically modified crops on the environment. Dr. Nelson was a coordinating lead author of the Millennium Ecosystem Assessment Scenarios work, led the writing team for the High Level Panel of Experts 2012 report on Food Security and Climate Change to the UN’s Committee on Food Security, and currently coordinates the global economic modeling work of the Agricultural Modeling Intercomparison and Improvement Project (AgMIP).